Annual Moloney Award

2 May 2006

The Annual Moloney Award was this year presented to Dr. Abigail Moore.

The Moloney Award was established in 2003 to recognise the outstanding contribution made by the late Dr. Joe Moloney to oral health promotion in Ireland, through his involvement as a founding member of the Dental Health Foundation.

The Award is conferred on the dentist(s) the judging panel consider to have presented the best table demonstration entry at the conference. Competitors are judged on detailed criteria including originality, usefulness and presentation.

A key requirement of the judging criteria is that each demonstration presents a practical component applicable to general dental practice. A hands-on, interactive approach to all the presentations is encouraged.

This year’s presentations were all of a particularly high calibre, impressing the judges tremendously. The winning competitor is awarded a specially commissioned Waterford Crystal bowl in perpetuity, and this year the winning competitor Dr. Abigail Moore, was presented with her trophy by Mrs. Irene Moloney. Dr. Moore’s presentation was entitled ‘Immediate Space Maintainers – A Good Stop Gap’.

The judging panel for the 2006 Moloney Award, pictured left to right: Dr. Gerry Andres, Past President of the American Board of Fixed Prosthodontics, Ms. Deirdre Sadlier, Executive Director, Dental Health Foundation, Dr. Patrick Crotty, Chair of the Moloney Award Committee and Dr. Timothy Carlson, Director of Comprehensive Care Dental Clinic at Indiana University School of Dentistry