## **Oral Health Promotion Research Group**

'Promoting Oral Health' 8<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference 16<sup>th</sup> September 2011 Ashling Hotel, Dublin

## Conference Report

The eighth Annual Conference of the Oral Health Promotion Research Group was held in Dublin on the 16<sup>th</sup> September. Over 62 delegates attended this one day event titled 'Promoting Oral Health'. The themes chosen within this overall concept included Evidence Based Practice, Water Fluoridation, Healthy Lifesmiles and Bursary award winners. Excellent presentations were given by Dr Carmel Parnell, Dr Joe Mullen, Dr Mary O Farrell, Dr Caoimhin McGiolla Padraig and Mary Carr.

Margaret OMalley chairperson of the Oral Health Promotion Research Group gave the welcome speech and chaired the morning session.

Dr Claire Connolly, Coordinator of the Specialist Certificate in Health Promotion – Oral Health Discipline of Health Promotion, NUIGalway opened the conference and gave an overview of the conference programme. She informed the delegates that information needs to be 'evidence based' and that oral health promotion is not just about caries prevention but also includes Smoking Prevention, Alcohol, Sport and Policy. She spoke of the excellent work being carried out by graduates of the Specialist Certificate in Oral Health Promotion, an outreach course in Health Promotion available to students through NUIG.

Dr Carmel Parnell gave a thought provoking presentation on Evidence Based Practice and its impact for Oral Health Promotion. She explained what evidence-based practice means and how to navigate the evidence maze and the implications and recommendations for Oral Health Promoters in delivering evidence based programmes for caries prevention in Ireland.

Dr Joe Mullen presented a very informative and interesting overview on Fluoridation. Dr Mullen is part of a fluoridation effort started in Sligo in 1996 and he was appointed to the both the Forum on Fluoridation and the Expert Body on Fluorides and Health. He is the Chair of New and Emerging Issues Committee and represented EBFH at CECDO meetings.

A Plenary session ended the morning and raised many questions for the speakers which brought us up to lunch

Dr Nader Farvardin Principal Dental Surgeon ably chaired the afternoon session. This included a short presentation and launch of our offical OHPRG website by Mr Tom Duke IT Consultant. The Dental Health Foundation sponsored this venture and we are delighted with their continued financial support. They have also sponsored our Bursary for 2010/2011.

Dr Mary O Farrell Principal Dental Surgeon in Meath delivered her presentation on 'Healthy Lifesmiles' an Oral Health Promotion training programme for nurses and carers of older people. The programme recognises the need for oral health care for older people in residential care who are dependent due to illness. The training and resource pack for staff includes a tutor's guide and information cards, leaflets, PowerPoint CD, resource checklist and a Certificate of attendance for each participant.

The Dental Health Foundation have also sponsored our bursary for 2011/2012. The first of our Bursary winners Mary Carr Dental Health Educator(Oral Health) HSE-North East ,presented 'Tooth Led Teens' which aimed to increase an awareness of oral health within the school environment. As SPHE is a compulsory subject in all schools, this programme provides an opportunity for the promotion of good oral health of children attending post primary schools in Cavan, Meath and Louth.

Dr Caoimhin MacGiolla Phadraig gave a presentation of his project' Train the Trainer An Oral Health Training Kit. He went on to outline how to deliver Oral Health training in the Intellectual Disability Residential Care Setting.

A panel discussion followed to end the afternoon session. Ms Patricia Gilsenan from the Dental Health Foundation congratulated the Bursary winners and presented them with their awards. A special award from the Dental Health Foundation was also made to Kellie O'Shaughnessy, Dental Hygienist, in recognition of her work submitted for the Bursary this year.

The day concluded with out AGM and was well attended by our members. The election of incoming officers for the committee was held and well attended. Dr Mary O'Farrell, Dr Carmel Parnell, Heather Clarke and Rose Bradley Molloy will join the committee for the coming year.

Margaret OMalley Chairperson OHPRG